Unfairly selected for redundancy

I’ve been selected to be made redundant from a job/role I’ve been doing at the same place for 20 years. There are new guys they’ve taken on in the last 2 years, with fewer qualifications and much less experience than me who are staying. I believe it’s because I do not get on with a senior manager in our area, then is no other reason. All my appraisals have been great, never been disciplined for anything, never late, very few days off sick (apart from an operation last year). I also trained many of the new starters, and am multi skilled in more than one area, I’m almost one of the longest serving employees in our department.

I’m going to appeal it, but the union is non existent in our company so don’t hold out any hope of it being overturned.

What are my next steps, and who should I speak to please?

Comments

• elsien
    elsien Posts: 32,684 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post
    Are you in a union, regardless of whether your company recognises them? If so, contact them.
    How many people are being made redundant?
    What are the selection criteria?
    All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well.

Pedant alert - it's could have, not could of.
  • I’m in a union so shall contact them to speak to their solicitors.

Approximately 35 are being made redundant but a very high percentage of those are voluntary, a lot of staff who are in their 60’s who’ve worked there for 35+ years

There was a scoring system/selection criteria but we never saw it
  • elsien
    You need to find out what the selection criteria are. You don't have the right to see other people's scores, but you can't appeal that tbe selection process is unfair if you've no idea what they've based it on. Was this not discussed on the consultation?

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.moneyadviceservice.org.uk/en/articles/your-legal-rights-when-facing-redundancy/amp