Shared ownership but only 87 years on lease

Options
Hi all,
Hoping you can help. I have had an offer accepted on a shared ownership house (25% share).
I am fast learning the pitfalls of these kind of properties and I am in talks with the solicitor.
The lease is 87 years and I am looking into being able to extend the lease. Am I right in thinking it can only be extended up to 99 years? Is it all possible to buy the lease so I am the freeholder? (housing association owns the other 75%). I am new to shared ownership although I have owned a house before so I am trying to think about the long term implications.
Will I have to extend the lease every few years?
I am 41 and would be looking to get a mortgage (it would be a small mortgage). Just really looking for some advice and guidance.
Would really appreciate any help. Thank you so much!
Respond to every call that excites your spirit.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,297 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic First Post Name Dropper
    edited 21 January 2020 at 2:31PM
    Options
    purply wrote: »
    Hi all,
    Hoping you can help. I have had an offer accepted on a shared ownership house (25% share).
    I am fast learning the pitfalls of these kind of properties and I am in talks with the solicitor.
    The lease is 87 years and I am looking into being able to extend the lease. Am I right in thinking it can only be extended up to 99 years? Is it all possible to buy the lease so I am the freeholder? (housing association owns the other 75%). I am new to shared ownership although I have owned a house before so I am trying to think about the long term implications.
    Will I have to extend the lease every few years?
    I am 41 and would be looking to get a mortgage (it would be a small mortgage). Just really looking for some advice and guidance.
    Would really appreciate any help. Thank you so much!