ATM fees in Spain

Hi all,

I've got a Monzo card that I've been using overseas for a few years. However, on my recent trips abroad, I've often found it best value to actually get a little cash from somewhere before you go, and then to just pay for most things on the Monzo wherever you can when abroad.

I'll give you an example. In some countries, it's normal for there to be an ATM charge when withdrawing money - this is the case in Thailand for example. So these aren't fees applied by your bank, but by the bank that operate the ATM.

Anyway, I'm trying to find out what the trend is in Spain right now for ATM fees. The research I've done seems to suggest that some banks will charge you more, and some will charge less.

Does anyone know what the current state of play is? Which banks in Spain charge what (if anything) for using their ATMs?

Thanks

Ted

Comments

• agrinnall
    agrinnall Posts: 23,344 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    Do some searching, this is a question that comes up and is answered quite often. Not always on this board though, sometimes on the Banking board, and sometimes on the Credit Card board.
  • superted187
    superted187 Posts: 65 Forumite
    My point was there's just mostly noise in the search results, but I'll sift through them
  • stephb34
    stephb34 Posts: 2,064 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    I used my 15 year old daughters Nationwide card which doesn't charge the transaction fee like mine would but the bank i withdrew from charged me 1.75%
  • EveryWhere
    EveryWhere Posts: 3,249 Forumite
    Hi all,

I've got a Monzo card that I've been using overseas for a few years. However, on my recent trips abroad, I've often found it best value to actually get a little cash from somewhere before you go, and then to just pay for most things on the Monzo wherever you can when abroad.