PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

A flat with no light fittings?!

Hi everyone I m newbie here.

I have recently moved into a new flat then realised there are no ceiling light in all of the bedrooms. It didn’t occurs to me to check when viewing the flat, because it’s unexpected and never happen in 15 years of moving around in London.

Landlord has refused to install light on the ceiling, he only agree to provide lamp which is not bright enough to use for work at night.

Is it against health and safety to rent out flat that has no light fitting? What is my right in this case?

Thank you for your help! :beer:

Comments

• theoretica
    theoretica Posts: 12,303 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    My grandad's flat had no central light which I found very odd! But good lamps and uplighters worked fine.
    But a banker, engaged at enormous expense,
    Had the whole of their cash in his care.
    Lewis Carroll
  • davidmcn
    davidmcn Posts: 23,596 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post