Question on current IVA

Options
Hey all,

I'm very new to all this, but have been using the forums for advice for a long time now. I'm currently 6 months into my IVA with partner and just have a few questions that keep coming up.

When it comes to our review, how much of a monthly increase can we expect I've had a small pay rise, but at the moment do alot of overtime. I put 50% of this away ready to hand over, but i'm worried that this regular overtime will go into my wages next year. I'm worried as from april, the way my job does its overrtime is changing, and my monthly amount is going to go down, ALOT.

And, has anyone had any probs with the student loan company in thier IVA (they are still taking payments from my wages).

But, on a plus, i can say taking the IVA was the best thing, so far, i have ever done. I feel like i'm finally paying off my debts, and with the 50% extra payments, feel like we might pay of a large sum of money.

Thanks all.

Comments

• Dr_Hook
    Dr_Hook Posts: 509 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options
    Hi Leanne

Your wageslips will be assessed in your review, the exact amount of the increase will depend on how much your wage has increased and whether there has been any increase in your expenditure.

It sounds like overtime is being caught under the 50% rule rather than forming part of the set monthly IVA income. That being the case, the 50% rule would continue to apply and you shouldn't expect an increase in your monthly payments because of it, any increase will be a result of the increase in your basic salary due to your payrise. If you're unsure, send a cover letter when you send in your payslips for review explaining that overtime is likely to reduce significantly in the near future.

Student loans now survive bankruptcy and consequently won't be included in the IVA. Unfortunately you're stuck with the deductions from your wage slip until the loan's repaid in full.