Reducing Debt - being accountable and taking responsibility

DrSpendLittle
DrSpendLittle Posts: 698 Forumite
Debt-free and Proud!
edited 30 March 2019 at 1:53PM in Debt free diaries
UPDATE / SPOILER ALERT: Go to page 28 / post 552 to fast forward to the result of this particular debt game show

;)

Original diary name: Reducing Debt: being accountable and taking responsibility

Hi everyone!

DFW newbie here! Been a lurker for a while but have been so inspired by reading others' DFW diaries - it's literally all I've done this weekend! - that I decided to take the plunge and join in the fun. Now's the time. Had my LBM a few weeks ago and can't wait to get started :p

So, a little about me before I state my financial situation and my goals:
- a happy, healthy and engaged homeowner
- settled in my career with a fairly well paid job & annual increment
- looking at starting a family soon as time is ticking!
- enjoys sports and the outdoors and a healthy approach to life
- has just started using YNAB
- has a 'secret' unsecured debt of just over £10k (2 x cc's)

About DF
DF is debt free but doesn't actively save. He seems to spend what he earns which isn't great since we have a tiny mortgage and lowish bills. He had family money passed on to him a few years ago on the advice of his mother's accountants - she would NEVER give it away otherwise. This dosh acts as a financial cushion for him .....and, admittedly, me :rotfl: gosh, it really has meant I've been a wee bit lacking in the old saving malarkey :eek: Time to banish this false sense of security!

About DF and I's financials