Getting husband off mortgage

Hi apologies if I'm posting in the wrong area but first time here seeking advice.
Basically husband and I split 2 years ago, I moved out and rented while he stayed in the family home , kids went between us both. Last year he was in the process of buying me out then lost his job. I had to return to the house as he couldn't afford it, he moved out. I have been paying the mortgage alone since October 2018. We have 10 years left on mortgage, he wants a 50/50 split when it's paid off. Meaning I'm paying it alone for the next ten years and he gets half which I'm not happy about, caused a big argument when I mentioned it. I'm now wondering if I could remortgage to buy him out. Our lender is Halifax. I work part time and receive tax credits so my question is has anyone been in a similar position, would they refuse me due to this. I will go see a financial advisor but just throwing it out here and any advice welcome. Thanks for reading

Comments

• thorsoak
    thorsoak Posts: 7,166 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    I would suggest taking legal advice as well as financial advice.
  • Carrot007
    Carrot007 Posts: 4,534 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    If you can afford to you can do it with his agreement.

Without you are looking at tens of thousands in court costs and it might be better to sell up and move.
  • He would agree as he's in a lot of debt that his share would pay off. I'm just not sure Halifax would give me the mortgage in my own name, as I would need to extend another 10 years. He doesn't want to sell as it's the kids home, but I think I'd rather pay him off now than pay the next 10 years alone then have to split equally with him
  • Rachel83
    Rachel83 Posts: 335 Forumite
    First Post