Carers Allowance and working in a school

Quick bit of background...
My husband works full time. I have been a full time Mum for 12 years and am in receipt of Carers Allowance for our 8 year old.
I recently retrained as an Early Years worker and have been volunteering and providing TA cover in a reception class.
I am aware that while in receipt of Carers Allowance my benefit would be affected if I earn over £120 pw. However what I am not clear of is if I can earn more than £120 pw if I work in a school and therefore only get paid per annum as I would only be working what 39 weeks of the year?
Just had a reality check with our finances for the future and desperately need to get out working myself. I really need to be at home with our 8 yr old during the holidays.
So in summary can I earn more than £120 pw if my earnings per annum work out at less than the £120pw?
Please help x

Comments

• pmlindyloo
    pmlindyloo Posts: 13,049 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    _shel wrote: »
    No, any week you earn over you are not entitled to carers allowance. They don't work it out over the year.

This isn't quite true.

If you read this link and look up the legislation there are different options on how they can work out your earnings.

https://www.rightsnet.org.uk/forum-archive/indexb466.html
    (old post but legislation remains the same)

Post 2 shows the exact same case which was appealed and overturned.

I suggest the OP speaks to Carer's Unit, explain the situation and ask for a decision to be made by a decision maker. The OP could quote the legislation too. Telephone call should be followed up by a letter which should be copied and proof of posting kept.
  • w06
    w06 Posts: 917 Forumite