Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • afis1904
    • By afis1904 6th Nov 19, 1:22 PM
    • 9Posts
    • 0Thanks
    afis1904
    Cash ISAs
    • 6th Nov 19, 1:22 PM
    Cash ISAs 6th Nov 19 at 1:22 PM
    Hi,

I am relatively new to this and I recently found out that you are only allowed to open one cash ISA per tax year. However, I couldn't find a clear definition of what would constitute a cash isa. I know a help to buy one does, but what about a Marcus account (which I recently opened) or regular saver accounts?
Page 1
    • droopsnoot
    • By droopsnoot 6th Nov 19, 1:34 PM
    • 1,291 Posts
    • 836 Thanks
    droopsnoot
    • 6th Nov 19, 1:34 PM
    • 6th Nov 19, 1:34 PM
    That's not strictly true, I believe the rule is that you can only pay new money into one cash ISA per year. You can open more than one, you could transfer money from one into another (as long as the recipient processes it as a transfer, you don't withdraw from the old and pay into the new) but you can only stick new money into one cash, one S&S, and perhaps others than I'm not familiar with.

Accounts are normally pretty well signposted as a "Cash ISA" because of these rules. There's normally a declaration you have to confirm at some point during the account opening process if it's a cash ISA, to really ram it home.
    • soulsaver
    • By soulsaver 6th Nov 19, 1:41 PM
    • 2,586 Posts
    • 1,300 Thanks
    soulsaver
    • 6th Nov 19, 1:41 PM
    • 6th Nov 19, 1:41 PM