Wills and my items

Hello. I recently posted about what would happen to my debts should I die and received many useful answers. I am curious to understand if it would make any difference if I made a will. I have a car and a few personal items which I understand may be taken to pay towards my debts. If I made a will stating which items I wanted to go to specific family and friends does this mean they would definitely go to those people or can they still be used to pay off the money I owe? I am new to all this and have never looked I to making a will, I don't own much but what I do own I would like to go to the people I care about. Thank you

Comments

• theoretica
    theoretica Posts: 12,293 Forumite
    First Post Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary
    Any valuable items would be sold to go towards debts.

Otherwise people would try to take out loans to buy expensive jewellery to leave to their family and friends and loan companies would refuse to lend to anyone old or ill.
    But a banker, engaged at enormous expense,
    Had the whole of their cash in his care.
    Lewis Carroll
  • Star81
    Star81 Posts: 37 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    Thank you for your reply. So it wouldn't make any difference if I made a will as whatever I had of any worth will be removed anyway and sold to pay towards my debts? is this what probate is? Sorry for the questions, I am lost with all this legal stuff
  • AnotherJoe
    AnotherJoe Posts: 19,622 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Yes that's pretty much it probate involves appointing someone to agree what is owed to pass it on.
    First funeral expenses.
    Then mortgage
    Then debts
    Only then do people get what's left.

And probably tax is ranked in there high up as well if owed.