Can't pay my debts

I was unfairly dismissed from my job and have now been rendered unemployable.

I cannot get a job because I have been 'dismissed' and do not now have a reference. I am a former teacher with an unblemished career but this 'dismissed' tag obviously affects my chances of getting a job.

I am nearly 53 so who will employ me under these terms.

I have been unemployed for over a year now and have not accrued any debts while I have been on unemployed and on JSA, simply because I go without, even food, when I have to.

However, I have debts that became debts because I was dismissed while I had borrowing and credit cards in place.

I have just had a CCJ against me from the HSBC to pay back my credit card total £4,053.26 (including interest and costs). I do not have a hope of paying this off and cannot afford anything out of my JSA, it only covers my essential basic living costs - no frills.

What can I do? What will they do to me when I can't pay it?

Comments

• VitaK
    VitaK Posts: 651 Forumite
    I've been Money Tipped!
    You should get in contact with one of the non-profit debt charities that can give you proper advice.

Please have a look on this.
    IMPORTANT - Where to seek professional impartial advice about your debts.
  • McKneff
    McKneff Posts: 38,823 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    I cant see how you can say you are 'unemployable' of course you are employable, depending on what youj were dismissed for. If you think you were unfairly dismissed then fight it unless you already have of course and lost.

There are thousands of jobs you could do without actually being a teacher.
    make the most of it, we are only here for the weekend.
    and we will never, ever return.
  • McKneff wrote: »