What does 'cifas' do? as a financial company ?

Galeeno
Galeeno Posts: 295 Forumite
edited 1 October 2013 at 10:12PM in Credit file & ratings
The company Cifas, what does it to in conjunction to a persons credit, and credit file,

and for creditors checking how somebodies credit score is,

does it have a link with addresses? and credit scores ? and electrol roll information ?

Comments

• kingstreet
    kingstreet Posts: 38,763 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    It is one of the two anti-fraud databases used by the financial services industry, along with National Hunter.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • bigjl
    bigjl Posts: 6,457 Forumite
    Credit Industry Fraud Avoidance System.

There are different levels of warning that can be attached to your file.

Don't know what those are off the top of my head though. But i believe some are when people alter their name or date of birth to get credit.

Not sure if it also indicates if somebody has used your details or similar.

I was told i had a Cifas warning on my file back in the mid ninties and it was because the date of birth was incorrect on a finance application, at least that is what i was told by General Guarantee.
  • jeystone
    jeystone Posts: 110 Forumite
    if you have ever been a victim of fraud, they advertise you as a convicted fraudster to everyone...if your credit file is out of date, you are again guilty of fraud

...thats what they do effectively
  • jeystone