Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    Freezing
    Warning re 24/7 Home Rescue
    • #1
    • 26th Dec 14, 10:26 PM
    Warning re 24/7 Home Rescue 26th Dec 14 at 10:26 PM
    Dear all

    I just wanted to give some feed back on the terrible service we have had this Christmas from 24/7 Home Rescue.

    Firstly, they are not 24/7 - whist you can make a claim with the engineering company they outsource their work to, you can't actually speak to them directly because they are closed until 5 January 2015! Which company in this day and age is closed for this long without someone being available to contact, especially when the say they are 24/7? I have asked the online "webchat" machine wether they have an emergency number they can contact and all I got was an evasive answer to the effect of "someone will call you soon" presumably when they re-open on 5 January!

    Long and short of the story is that we had problems with our boiler. They sent out someone to look at it. This engineer reset the boiler and went on his way. The problems persisted and 24/7 have not sent someone to look at the boiler again as they think the problem is a pressure issue. How would they know this without even looking at the boiler after the problems persisted? Any way, it's a fault with the boiler itself but they won't send anyone out to have a look at it. The boiler has broken down again and when I called the third party engineering line we were told there was a note on the system not to send an engineer out until the dispute was investigated. Problem is, they are closed over Christmas and there is no one we can speak to.

    If there was an issue which was genuinely not covered the policy then fine, we would get it fixed. But they they allegedly fixed our boiler then when the problems persisted they said it was a problem with the pressure without even looking at the boiler. Also, pressure isn't specifically excluded from the terms of their service.

    I have used both British Gas and Homeserve before and for all their faults, at least you can speak to a person at the company over Christmas. Out of Homeserve and British Gas, I would say Homeserve were the best so will be going back to them.

    I am sorry to say that these smaller independent companies really don't provide the same level of service.

    Sorry for the rant but I was most disappointed to hear the company left us without cover over Christmas.

    We've got the electric heaters on for now!
Page 15
    • vindaloo
    • By vindaloo 27th Apr 18, 10:33 AM
    • 17 Posts
    • 6 Thanks
    vindaloo
    Dear Vindaloo

    As per your conversation with Bradley in our complaints department on the 20/04, you were made aware that the contract has been cancelled and I can confirm that the cancellation fee has been waived for you.

    Hope this helps

    Regards

    Lauren 24/7 Home Rescue
    Originally posted by 247homerescue
    Thanks, I have received a confirmation email to inform me I owe no more money. On a side note I have had a local plumber look at my boiler and he has stated that the boiler has no faults.
    • MikeB47
    • By MikeB47 30th Apr 18, 12:47 PM
    • 1 Posts
    • 2 Thanks
    MikeB47
    I am having the same problem with '24 7' - took out cover with them in March last year...all seemed okay then boiler broke down in August. Contacted them...yes we will get someone out but it will cost you 60! I asked why as the policy states free visits...it is because your boiler is old! I paid as i had no other alternative as boiler serves heating and hot water.
    In September I decided to get a new boiler, which i did, and wrote to 24 7 to cancel my cover....I received no acknowledgement and because no monies were taken from my bank account - I ensured this by cancelling my DD - I assumed all was well and that they had cancelled my cover agreement. How wrong can one be - in March this year I noticed a DD had been taken by 24 7 - again I immediately cancelled it and emailed 24 7 to ask what the hell was going on and I expect a refund of the money deducted. No chance - have had 2 very curt telephone calls demanding I reinstate the DD. I stated that I had not authorised the payment as I no longer have any cover with them, thus they have deducted monies without any legal authority - the next day i get an email...your cover has been agreed!!! Oh no it hasn't! Again exchange of very curt telephone calls.
    I have since submitted a complaint {text removed by MSE Forum Team} - in response I got a short email stating: 'I have reviewed the account and I decline your refund. I further note that failure to complete your payments will lead to a cancellation fee of 144.00 as highlighted in your contract terms.' What the writer has failed to understand is..I HAVE NO AGREEMENT with them..it was cancelled last August. Furthermore, no explanation as to why they rejected my appeal or how they have arrived at their decision.... anyone can respond by saying, yeah, we looked at it, but don't agree...little bit like the school playground banter.
    Today, yet another phone call - which i did not answer as was on another call, but this company have zero customer service, zero empathy with the customer and to me are purely in it to take one's cash....{text removed by MSE Forum Team}. Even the engineer they sent round is fed up with them and is removing his name from their list because within the industry they have a truly bad reputation.
    {text removed by MSE Forum Team}
    Last edited by MSE Andrea; 05-09-2018 at 3:04 PM.
    • 247homerescue
      Verified User verified user
    • By 247homerescue Verified User verified user 30th Apr 18, 3:21 PM
    • 89 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    247homerescue
    Dear MikeB47

    Thank you for your review. In order to ensure this matter is dealt with promptly and the areas of your complaints are investigated, please would you be kind enough to contact me via email at socialmedia@247homerescue.co.uk

    Regards

    Lauren 24/7 Home Rescue
    Social Media Advisor

    Verified Company
    We are verified representatives of 247 Homerescue. MSE has given permission for us to post in response to queries about the company so that we can help solve issues. You can see our name on the Verified Companies list. We are not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe we are, please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of the company or its products by MSE.
    • Clarks3
    • By Clarks3 30th Apr 18, 6:37 PM
    • 2 Posts
    • 4 Thanks
    Clarks3
    {Text removed by MSE Forum Team}

    They recently assessed my boiler thermostat as needing replacing.......something that they said was not covered by my boiler service agreement and would therefore cost 110.......when all it needed was 2 AA batteries!!!!!!!128544;
    Last edited by MSE Andrea; 05-09-2018 at 1:57 PM.
    • 247homerescue
      Verified User verified user
    • By 247homerescue Verified User verified user 1st May 18, 9:11 AM
    • 89 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    247homerescue
    Dear Clarks3

    Thank you for your review. In order to ensure this matter is dealt with promptly and the areas of your complaints are investigated, please would you be kind enough to contact me via email at socialmedia@247homerescue.co.uk

    Regards

    Lauren 24/7 Home Rescue
    Social Media Advisor

    Verified Company
    We are verified representatives of 247 Homerescue. MSE has given permission for us to post in response to queries about the company so that we can help solve issues. You can see our name on the Verified Companies list. We are not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe we are, please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of the company or its products by MSE.
    • 247homerescue
      Verified User verified user
    • By 247homerescue Verified User verified user 1st May 18, 9:41 AM
    • 89 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    247homerescue
    Dear 247homescamster

    Parts and labour included means parts and labour included and no excess means no excess. However at 247 Home Rescue each plan has its own terms and conditions and cover is set by the plan that you sign up for.

    I hope this clarifies and answers your query.

    Regards

    Lauren
    247 Home Rescue
    Last edited by 247homerescue; 01-05-2018 at 9:48 AM.
    Social Media Advisor

    Verified Company
    We are verified representatives of 247 Homerescue. MSE has given permission for us to post in response to queries about the company so that we can help solve issues. You can see our name on the Verified Companies list. We are not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe we are, please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of the company or its products by MSE.
    • 247homerescue
      Verified User verified user
    • By 247homerescue Verified User verified user 1st May 18, 10:35 AM
    • 89 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    247homerescue
    Dear 247homescamster

    Please revert to the terms and conditions of your plan. We have provided enough information on there that will answer your query.

    Thank you

    Lauren 247 Home Rescue
    Social Media Advisor

    Verified Company
    We are verified representatives of 247 Homerescue. MSE has given permission for us to post in response to queries about the company so that we can help solve issues. You can see our name on the Verified Companies list. We are not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe we are, please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of the company or its products by MSE.
    • Doggysoft
    • By Doggysoft 1st May 18, 12:51 PM
    • 3 Posts
    • 2 Thanks
    Doggysoft
    Has anyone had any success with small claims courts? I've had the same palaver as everyone above. I was charged 75 for one call out because I'd 'waited 24 hours before reporting it', and another call out I was charged 75 for a call out because the electrician could not find the cause of the intermittent fault and therefore 'had nothing to fix'. He put it down to the fusebox needing to be 'reset' and therefore classed as 'home maintenance and something I should know how to do'.


    The best part is that when I rang 24/7 to question them on the original call by myself, I asked them if in the notes 'Had I mentioned that I had tried resetting the fuseboard and that it would not, as it kept tripping'; she said 'yes' and passed me to a manager who would not answer my call and instead chose to email me a rejection of my complaint.


    Both call outs were 'covered' by the Home Emergency policy with 'No excess' etc
    • 247homerescue
      Verified User verified user
    • By 247homerescue Verified User verified user 1st May 18, 1:57 PM
    • 89 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    247homerescue
    Dear Doggysoft

    Thank you for your review. In order to ensure this matter is dealt with promptly and the areas of your complaints are investigated, please would you be kind enough to contact me via email at socialmedia@247homerescue.co.uk

    Regards

    Lauren 24/7 Home Rescue
    Social Media Advisor

    Verified Company
    We are verified representatives of 247 Homerescue. MSE has given permission for us to post in response to queries about the company so that we can help solve issues. You can see our name on the Verified Companies list. We are not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe we are, please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of the company or its products by MSE.
    • 247homerescue
      Verified User verified user
    • By 247homerescue Verified User verified user 3rd May 18, 5:40 PM
    • 89 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    247homerescue
    Dear PhilipV6

    If you would like to discuss your points further you can contact me on socialmedia@247homerescue.co.uk. I am more than happy to run through the terms and conditions and the security payments with you in detail.

    Regards

    Lauren 24/7 Home Rescue
    Social Media Advisor

    Verified Company
    We are verified representatives of 247 Homerescue. MSE has given permission for us to post in response to queries about the company so that we can help solve issues. You can see our name on the Verified Companies list. We are not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe we are, please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of the company or its products by MSE.
    • bina kumari
    • By bina kumari 30th May 18, 1:39 PM
    • 1 Posts
    • 1 Thanks
    bina kumari
    24 home rescue
    I have had a terrible experience with this company.. I joined this company over year ago.. I decided to use them first time couple of months ago..during the cold weather hot water and heating stopped working. I called them out and told me I had to pay 75 that will be refunded after the engineer expects the fault..just in case parts are needed..etc.. I argued with them that I joined this company up to prevent additional charges...they agreed to charge me 35 refundable..how ever I agreed out of desperation as I am disabled.. when engineer arrived he said nothing was wrong and pipes had been frozen he just told me to put hot water on there and it will work..and it did..after this I been trying to get my additional 35 refunded..after months and 4 calls to them the response I got was that I will not be refunded cause there wasn't a issue the engineer could of fixed and therefore I lost that money...I asked what was the money used for and they said a call out charge...omg I was horrified I pay for unlimited call outs with no excess charges...What on earth is going on..they keep you on hold for hours at a time and they refused to listen to me further and said they will terminate my call...I am so upset...still can't understand why they charged me 35 For!!!!:
    • NewbieLandlord
    • By NewbieLandlord 1st Jun 18, 11:34 AM
    • 1 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    NewbieLandlord
    I hate to admit it but we've fallen prey to this company too.

    We are new, novice landlords - our first tenant moves in today - and, having looked around, we decided to use 24/7 Home Rescue for our boiler services and gas safety checks. I rang up to book an appointment for the boiler to be services and the gas safety checks to be carried out, to be told that, as we'd only just taken the policy out, we would have to pay a value up front but that would then reduce our monthly payment. Fair enough, I thought. After much palaver and loads of calls, I managed to get the service visit booked for Wednesday 30th. Our tenant would be at the property so he offered to let the engineer in, etc. Within an hour of the service visit, I got a call from the company to say he'd been, the service had been carried out and the engineer noted that, as our boiler was over 10 years old (it's 13 years old) then it wasn't worth anything and they could do me a deal on a new boiler. The lady then proceeded to inform me how the value reduces each year, before I politely informed her I was well-aware of how depreciation in all its forms works as I was an accountant. Following this visit, there was no hot water to be had whatsoever, although it had worked perfectly well before their visit, coincidence? Contacted 24/7 to be told they'd send an engineer out the following day. He turned up and "worked" on the boiler for over an hour to inform us that it was the gas valve that had failed and he'd reported it back to his office, could I chase up to get it put on the job list for the next day? After 20+ minutes on hold, I was informed that the issue had been referred to their claims department who had gone home for the day! This morning, having been on hold for almost 20 minutes again, I find out that the claims department had denied our claim on the basis that we'd not had a policy very long with them. I pointed out that the boiler had worked before their "engineer" had been to be told then that the service they do isn't a service as most of us would thing, they don't actually touch anything within the boiler, they just visually inspect it and therefore they could not have possible have done anything that would have made in not work!
    Anyway, after loosing it big time with them, I've told them to cancel the policy and we're cancelling our direct debit. We've lost 50+ to them but worse now is I have to get an emergency plumber in to rectify the damage at 125 per hour plus VAT plus parts. Has anyone successfully recouped costs incurred having to rectify this company's incompetence?
    • 247homerescue
      Verified User verified user
    • By 247homerescue Verified User verified user 4th Jun 18, 3:01 PM
    • 89 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    247homerescue
    Dear Newbie Landlord

    Thank you for your review.

    We apologise for the issues so far. We value your feedback and your report of difficulties in your engagement with us is a serious concern.

    Please can you kindly liaise with me at socialmedia@247homerescue.co.uk so that we can engage in this matter further.

    Regards

    Lauren 24/7 Home Rescue
    Social Media Advisor

    Verified Company
    We are verified representatives of 247 Homerescue. MSE has given permission for us to post in response to queries about the company so that we can help solve issues. You can see our name on the Verified Companies list. We are not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe we are, please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of the company or its products by MSE.
    • 247homerescue
      Verified User verified user
    • By 247homerescue Verified User verified user 4th Jun 18, 3:05 PM
    • 89 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    247homerescue
    Dear Bina Kumari

    Thank you for your review. In order to ensure this matter is dealt with promptly and the areas of your complaints are investigated, please would you be kind enough to contact me via email at socialmedia@247homerescue.co.uk

    Regards

    Lauren 24/7 Home Rescue
    Social Media Advisor

    Verified Company
    We are verified representatives of 247 Homerescue. MSE has given permission for us to post in response to queries about the company so that we can help solve issues. You can see our name on the Verified Companies list. We are not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe we are, please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of the company or its products by MSE.
    • Bat71
    • By Bat71 5th Jun 18, 11:18 AM
    • 9 Posts
    • 3 Thanks
    Bat71
    Small Claims
    Have also been burnt by this company.

    It struck me that if enough people in our situation submitted individual small claims then it might be a way to hit them where it hurts, not necessarily financially but for the act of multiple claims on their reputation.

    Would like to coordinate something along these lines, but no idea how

    Has anyone successfully won a small claim and if so can you share how it was done?

    I am aware that the T&Cs are sufficiently ambiguous seems to cover everything and also complicated, so framing a claim without looking like you just did not pay enough attention to these is quite tricky.

    If we could put together some sort of standard claim wording that specifically addressed the company's tactics then it might be easier for a lot of people to take action.
    • Bat71
    • By Bat71 5th Jun 18, 12:24 PM
    • 9 Posts
    • 3 Thanks
    Bat71
    Can I ask what your complaints were or how you phrased the claim.

    In my case I feel like they have charged me money (100's) that I wasn't expecting from an 'insurer' but it could be argued that these extra costs were hidden away in the T&Cs
    • 247homerescue
      Verified User verified user
    • By 247homerescue Verified User verified user 5th Jun 18, 3:13 PM
    • 89 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    247homerescue
    Dear Bat71

    Thank you for your review. In order to ensure this matter is dealt with promptly and the areas of your complaints are investigated, please would you be kind enough to contact me via email at socialmedia@247homerescue.co.uk

    Regards

    Lauren 24/7 Home Rescue
    Social Media Advisor

    Verified Company
    We are verified representatives of 247 Homerescue. MSE has given permission for us to post in response to queries about the company so that we can help solve issues. You can see our name on the Verified Companies list. We are not allowed to tout for business at all. If you believe we are, please report it to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com This does NOT imply any form of approval of the company or its products by MSE.
    • Bat71
    • By Bat71 6th Jun 18, 10:12 AM
    • 9 Posts
    • 3 Thanks
    Bat71
    Yes, will put in a claim, and yes can see the PR (so transparent)

    My point is that I don't think they care too much about social media comments or they try to shut them down, or drown them in paid for reviews.

    There are plenty of people complaining on this forum or on other websites/twitter

    With so many unhappy customers, I would urge people to make a small claim if they can as that is what will hit them more than anything on social media. There is a fee but worth it if you have been fleeced for 100s.

    Repeated small claims against a company is going to start to ring alarm bells,which is why they pay out, I would also recommend anyone affected reporting them to action fraud
    • Bat71
    • By Bat71 6th Jun 18, 5:07 PM
    • 9 Posts
    • 3 Thanks
    Bat71
    Good, I think a lot more people should be doing this!
    • zaax
    • By zaax 6th Jun 18, 6:19 PM
    • 1,857 Posts
    • 738 Thanks
    zaax
    Did you get anything in writting to say the boiler had been serviced?
    If the fitter has not done his job they said they did they can lose their licence.
    Do you want your money back, and a bit more, search for 'money claim online' - They don't like it up 'em Captain Mainwaring
Welcome to our new Forum!

Our aim is to save you money quickly and easily. We hope you like it!

Forum Team Contact us

Live Stats

403Posts Today

4,869Users online

Martin's Twitter
  • Thank you for all your kind words about my appearance on @gmb just now. I know I wear my heart on my sleeve a li? https://t.co/0C4N8850qE

  • On my way to @GMB where on my 7:40 slot I'll be talking about the victory in the battle against scam ads. That mean? https://t.co/uO5FELDpoa

  • RT @MartinSLewis: I've today agreed to drop my campaigning defamation lawsuit against Facebook regarding scam ads in return for it to a)?

  • Follow Martin