Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • p2white
    • By p2white 12th Apr 18, 12:22 AM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    p2white
    CMS and company car scheme problem
    • 12th Apr 18, 12:22 AM
    CMS and company car scheme problem 12th Apr 18 at 12:22 AM
    Hi, Ive been paying CSA to my ex wife for 7 years now without a hitch, but the CMS have just contacted me to suggest a new payment that is 140 a month higher than previously.
    The reason they give is that it is now based on gross income not net income.
    My problem with this is that in the tax year they are looking at ( 2016/17 ) I was in a company car scheme called a COS scheme. Which means I dont pay company car tax but instead pay an equivelant amount out of my salary towards the car. No better or worse of than a normal BIC payment.
    However, it has some form of tax benefit for my firm but the way they administor it means they make a payment ( or payments depending on monthly mileage ) into my wages and then take an equivelant payment back on the deductions side. However, in 2 months after I returned the car those payments were around 3000 instead of the normal 350...meaning my gross wages for that year wear inflated by nearly 9k with no benefit to me at all..
    As a result the CMS have included this in my annual calculation as they don't look at ANY deductions other than pension contributions.