Pension contribution taken from before tax or after?

Hi All
I'm a teacher, my salary is £35,200.
I have asked HR if I can put more into my pension from my monthly wage. They have said that I am putting in the maximum which they say is 6%.
According to salary tiers and contribution rates set out online, I should be able to put in 9.6% as I fall within the £35,000 to £41,499.99 bracket.

Before I go back to HR, I just want to clarify that the 6% of my contribution is taken from before deductions are made ?
Thanks for any replies

Comments

• Brynsam
    Brynsam Posts: 3,643 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Combo Breaker First Post
    Before I go back to HR, I just want to clarify that the 6% of my contribution is taken from before deductions are made ?

Yes, the 6% is taken from gross pay.
  • xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,331 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    I'm a teacher, my salary is £35,200.

I should be able to put in 9.6% as I fall within the £35,000 to £41,499.99 bracket.

https://www.teacherspensions.co.uk/employers/managing-members/contributions/calculating-contributions.aspx

You seem to fall into the (18-19)

£27,048 to £36,410.99 band?

This seems to be 8.6%?
  • xylophone
    https://www.atl.org.uk/Images/adv80b-tps-2015-eligibility-contributions-benefits.pdf

You pay pension contributions out of your gross pay
    (before deduction of income tax), so the net cost of
    joining the TPS is usually reduced by 20%. If you pay
    tax at the higher rate, you save even more. Your
    employer also contributes towards your pension.
  • The Teachers Pensions Scheme is a defined benefits scheme, the pension you get is not directly linked to the contribution percentage that you pay, so there is no advantage to you in paying any more than you have to.

However if you want to increase your pension, there are options to purchase additional pension or opt for a faster accrual rate which you should look into.
  • Kynthia