Stuck please advise

Hi, I work as a community carer, my car has broken down and is unrepairable, I have no money to buy another car and I'm on a dmp so can't get a loan ect so I have no way of carrying on in my position. Obviously I'm looking for work now but what do I do if I don't get a job straight away, can I sign on if I am still employed? I'm on a zero hr contract so it makes no difference to my employer they are not paying me anything if I don't work but if I put my notice in and leave and still have no job am I right in thinking I will not be allowed to sign on as o left of my own accord?

Comments

• CAB_Birmingham_representative
    CAB_Birmingham_representative Posts: 89 Organisation Representative
    blueye wrote: »
    Hi, I work as a community carer, my car has broken down and is unrepairable, I have no money to buy another car and I'm on a dmp so can't get a loan ect so I have no way of carrying on in my position. Obviously I'm looking for work now but what do I do if I don't get a job straight away, can I sign on if I am still employed? I'm on a zero hr contract so it makes no difference to my employer they are not paying me anything if I don't work but if I put my notice in and leave and still have no job am I right in thinking I will not be allowed to sign on as o left of my own accord?

Dear Blueye,

You may be able to receive some Jobseekers Allowance if you are working less than 16 hours. However to clarify this and the steps you must take, please contact Job Centre directly on 0800 055 6688 (Lines are open Monday to Friday 8am to 6pm.)

You may also wish to get a benefit check to see if your income can be maximized further and to clarify what benefits you could be entitled to(if any.) To do this, you may either visit your local bureau or contact turn2us who provide checks over the phone on 0808 802 2000.