unfair night shift system

Options
I'm a nurse working full time in the NHS. I do approx 6 nights per month in two batches of 3 nights. Now, a new system is to be implemented whereas nights are set for each month. Bascially I know which dates in a given month I'll be working nights. My problem is that if I want to take annual leave and I'm due to work nights I have to swop with a colleague so my nights are covered.

I feel this is unfair really. If I don't get the swop I can't take the leave. And since when did anyone ever have to get their AL covered themselves!!

Further, I hate nights and I view my AL as the chance to do less nights during the month. In this new system I'll still have to do 6 nights in a month even if I take two of the weeks as AL. This seems really wrong. We've complained and signed a petition but it has come to nothing. I would like to take this matter further but am wondering whether I have grounds to and indeed who could help me? Maybe my union?

I want to take 2 weeks in May but.. yes.. all my nights are in this period. If I can't get a swop I'll miss my graduation and a family wedding. It stinks.

can anyone offer any suggestions?
£2019 in 2019 #44 - 864.06/2019

Comments

• GUMPO
    GUMPO Posts: 376 Forumite
    Options
    My shift pattern has no holidays at all (they are all factored in to begin with) and every shift off relies on swaps. I never thought it could work but as long as you have a good mix of people in the same job it does.

I often swap a Saturday night shift to go out and work a thursday for a guy who plays darts. Also you get people (like me) who prefer nights and will jump at the chance to swap so don't dispair.

Your union rep is your first port of call for a complaint but make sure that evryone (or at least most) will back him/her when they put the complaint forward on your behalf.

If all else fails pretend to be happy with the system then go sick.
    FREE THE WM3
  • missile
    missile Posts: 11,689 Forumite