I retracted my notice.... and I dont think I should have

In January this year I started my own business as a Virtual Assistant & PA, I'm glad to say it has went from strength to strength and last week I handed in my notice with my employer as I am currently an Office Manager for a Charity in a funding dependant role until March 2019.

However my employer stated they didn't want me to leave and to go away and have a think about it "as most new businesses fail" so I went away and I thought about it, and at the same time I had a bad experience with 1 of my clients which rocked my confidence a little.

So I hastily retracted my notice but now I could kick myself as I am so busy with clients I cant do all my work and I feel my focus needs to be on my business.

I feel like a fool handing my notice "back in" after retracting it...... Any advice would be greatly appreciated. __________________

Comments

• Wyndham
    Wyndham Posts: 2,437 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Could you maybe ask your employer about part time work, or some sort of job share? They may not agree, but it could be a good way for you to keep some stability while establishing your new business. Or, could they give you a sabbatical, or some sort of unpaid leave period? Again, maybe not, but you don't know unless you ask.

If that's not possible, then I'd respectfully suggest you make your mind up and stick with it... You won't do any favours either way by keep changing your mind.
  • jobbingmusician
    jobbingmusician Posts: 20,343 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Intrepid Forum Explorer
    OK, so you're in a good position. Your current employer wants to retain you.