Double Billing Communal Heat Network

I live on a development of new build flats. Some are owned by a housing authority- lets call the housing authority AHA. The other flats including mine are privately owned.

AHA own a plant room that houses cold water pumps and a heating system -the heat is then transferred through a network of hot water pipes. AHA also pump cold water to our properties – so Thames water are seemingly not directly involved in supplying us water. I have been paying Thames Water bills for 6 years since I moved into the property from new. Thames Water supposedly provide water to the central ‘plant room’ only. This is classified as a ‘private network’.

I am paying for hot water and heating to AHA (that includes a daily standing charge). I am paying Thames water for supply of water also.
Thames water is charging me for “water supply” and “wastewater” that includes a "fixed charge". As I see it I am being “double billed”. At the very least for the standing/fixed charge fees.

There was a water leak recently on our communal pipework and Thames Water engineers refused to fix the leak stating "its not our pipework". This does in fact prove we do not have a direct relationship with Thames Water for water supply?

Can anyone explain to me if Thames Water are not supplying me water - Thames Water supplies AHA with water - who then supply me with water. I, in effect do not have a direct relationship with Thames Water for the supply of water to my property?

Therefore it surely cannot be correct for me to pay one company for cold water and another for hot water - I should have a combined hot and cold water bill - with one standing charge - not a separate bill for hot and cold water that includes a standing charge from AHA and a fixed charge from Thames Water.

Any ideas greatly received!

Comments

• Cardew
    Cardew Posts: 29,036 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Rampant Recycler
    Welcome to the forum.