HL Investment Fund Spread 5.77%

honey_pot
honey_pot Posts: 4 Newbie
edited 13 July 2018 at 3:43PM in Savings & investments
Hi there
Recently moved my pension to a HL SIPP as i wanted a bit more control although i am a novice investor. Invested in a range of funds including this one - Legal & General UK Property Trust PAIF which i thought would be a cautious investment offering slow but steady growth. Unfortunately being new to this game i did not pick up on the fact there was a massive buy sell spread difference of some 5.77% with this fund ! . I had mistakenly assumed that as all my previous fund purchases had the same buy / sell price this would be the same. As such on the performance of the fund in the last few years i will be lucky to make my money back within a year.

I phoned HL directly to enquire why the value of my investment had dropped immediately and the advisor explained the buy / sell differential and also told me that fund managers sometimes do this to stop people from investing in a fund that has too much money it already - later i was told this advisor had made a mistake and this is not the case !

So i am raising a complaint with them saying they have not done enough to protect me from this kind of event . My main points are

1) This fund with this spread is not a realistic investment for anyone and should not be offered for sale by them - the only people who will buy it are people like me who make a mistake.

2) They should do more during the dealing process to make novice investors like me aware of this additional cost. It does not appear as a charge on the CHARGES AND SAVINGS tab on the website although to me it seems no different from paying an initial up front charge.

Anyway just curious to see if people think i have a point or whether its all down to my own incompetence !

thanks

Comments

• eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 31,015 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    honey_pot wrote: »