Tips for using a lifetime of FF miles as cheaply as possible?

Options
I have about 180k of FF miles with American.

They expire in 2 weeks. I live in Birmingham (West Midlands, not Alabama!)

I have various ideas for using them, but the #1 idea is to pay for a roundtrip flight for two dear friends who live in San Diego.

Because I have never used my FF miles before, I didn't realise that all taxes for the associated flight must be paid for.

My main question is: What factors mainly determine how much the taxes are? I'm finding no pattern. I thought it might be affected by one or more of (a) number of flight segments, (b) time of year, (c) flight involves an affiliate airline, or (d) countries passed through (I recall reading that UK airport taxes are very high, for example).

Having now run various routs from/to San Diego and Europe, and then other simpler routs (e.g., New York to London), I just don't understand. One example: taxes seem much higher for flights from San Diego to Italy (various airports) than for San Diego to Greece. Th difference is something in the order of £225 for the Greece trip (roundtrip to Athens) and £590 for Italy (roundtrip to Rome). A flight to Rome and back from Venice had taxes of £900. All of these routes involve changing flights in the UK. A direct roundtrip from Heathrow to New York had even higher taxes!

I'm bamboozled. I'm tempted to just pay $100 to add 2k miles to my account, just to keep the miles active and give me time to think this through further. FYI, I've been trying to arrange this for a while, I didn't just start today!
(Nearly) dunroving

Comments

• Caz3121
    Caz3121 Posts: 15,545 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options