Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Sophprice
    • By Sophprice 13th Jun 19, 6:24 AM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    Sophprice
    Stubhub sold my tickets AFTER I deleted my listing
    • #1
    • 13th Jun 19, 6:24 AM
    Stubhub sold my tickets AFTER I deleted my listing 13th Jun 19 at 6:24 AM
    I have had some concert tickets up on both Twickets and Stubhub for £30. On Tuesday afternoon, these sold on Twickets so I instantly logged onto Stubhub and deleted the listing for them.

    Yesterday (Wednesday), I receive an email from Stubhub saying my tickets have been sold. I phoned Stubhub straightaway to sort this out and question why my tickets were sold when the listing had been deleted. They checked my account and said I didnít delete the listing and Iím liable to pay a £25 admin fee and the difference in cost for new tickets for the buyer.

    My case has been forwarded to the Ďtechnical teamí as I asked for them to check all my recent logins as I can tell them exactly when I logged in on the Tuesday and completed this action. I am adamant I deleted this listing and unsure how Stubhub can legally sell these tickets AND charge me these fees on top. Unfortunately Stubhub donít send out cancellation emails and, after a Google search, this is something that has happened before.

    I have removed all my debit card information from the website and from PayPal so they have no way to charge me. I just want to know - where do I stand on this? What information can I request from them to prove this listing was deleted? And most importantly, can they get away with charging me or will they take this further if my payment information has been removed?

    Thanks in advance for any help.
Page 1
    • pinkshoes
    • By pinkshoes 13th Jun 19, 8:06 AM
    • 16,686 Posts
    • 23,131 Thanks
    pinkshoes
    • #2
    • 13th Jun 19, 8:06 AM
    • #2
    • 13th Jun 19, 8:06 AM
    I have had some concert tickets up on both Twickets and Stubhub for £30. On Tuesday afternoon, these sold on Twickets so I instantly logged onto Stubhub and deleted the listing for them.

    Yesterday (Wednesday), I receive an email from Stubhub saying my tickets have been sold. I phoned Stubhub straightaway to sort this out and question why my tickets were sold when the listing had been deleted. They checked my account and said I didnít delete the listing and Iím liable to pay a £25 admin fee and the difference in cost for new tickets for the buyer.

    My case has been forwarded to the Ďtechnical teamí as I asked for them to check all my recent logins as I can tell them exactly when I logged in on the Tuesday and completed this action. I am adamant I deleted this listing and unsure how Stubhub can legally sell these tickets AND charge me these fees on top. Unfortunately Stubhub donít send out cancellation emails and, after a Google search, this is something that has happened before.

    I have removed all my debit card information from the website and from PayPal so they have no way to charge me. I just want to know - where do I stand on this? What information can I request from them to prove this listing was deleted? And most importantly, can they get away with charging me or will they take this further if my payment information has been removed?

    Thanks in advance for any help.
    Originally posted by Sophprice
    I can't find any T&Cs on their website, but it does say:

    Under My tickets > Listings in your StubHub account, click the "Deactivated" tab to see your deactivated listings.

    Select the listing you want deleted. Click the black downward arrow, then ďDelete.Ē Clicking ďYes, delete itĒ will save your changes.
    I would just respond saying that as per their online instructions, you deactivated and deleted the tickets on Tuesday at <TIME> so there were no tickets for sale beyond this point.
    Should've = Should HAVE (not 'of')
    Would've = Would HAVE (not 'of')

    No, I am not perfect, but yes I do judge people on their use of basic English language. If you didn't know the above, then learn it! (If English is your second language, then you are forgiven!)
    • JReacher1
    • By JReacher1 13th Jun 19, 8:22 AM
    • 3,221 Posts
    • 4,490 Thanks
    JReacher1
    • #3
    • 13th Jun 19, 8:22 AM
    • #3
    • 13th Jun 19, 8:22 AM
    It seems a poor decision to sell the same set of tickets on two different ticket resale platforms.

    There is always a risk that the tickets could have sold on both platforms before you had the chance to remove the listing.
    • DoaM
    • By DoaM 13th Jun 19, 11:21 AM
    • 7,902 Posts
    • 7,708 Thanks
    DoaM
    • #4
    • 13th Jun 19, 11:21 AM
    • #4
    • 13th Jun 19, 11:21 AM
    Unfortunately Stubhub don’t send out cancellation emails
    Originally posted by Sophprice
    Do they say this in their T&Cs? If not, how do you know this? Have you cancelled tickets before?

    Given you were selling via 2 different platforms (and I agree with JR) I'd have wanted confirmation.
    Diary of a madman
    Walk the line again today
    Entries of confusion
    Dear diary, I'm here to stay
    • Paul_DNAP
    • By Paul_DNAP 13th Jun 19, 11:37 AM
    • 675 Posts
    • 830 Thanks
    Paul_DNAP
    • #5
    • 13th Jun 19, 11:37 AM
    • #5
    • 13th Jun 19, 11:37 AM
    It seems a poor decision to sell the same set of tickets on two different ticket resale platforms.

    There is always a risk that the tickets could have sold on both platforms before you had the chance to remove the listing.
    Originally posted by JReacher1

    Lucky it didn't happen the otherway round, trying to sell tickets you've listed with Twickets by any other means is against the T&Cs.


    Stubhub seem to allow it, and the procedure for cancelling the listing if you sell by other means is in shown there.
    (Although I could be wrong, I often am.)
    • Sophprice
    • By Sophprice 13th Jun 19, 4:54 PM
    • 2 Posts
    • 0 Thanks
    Sophprice
    • #6
    • 13th Jun 19, 4:54 PM
    • #6
    • 13th Jun 19, 4:54 PM
    I can appreciate this and itís something I wonít be doing again.

    However, there was over a 24 hour time span between the tickets selling and the point here is that the ticket listing was deleted - so why were my tickets sold?
    • JReacher1
    • By JReacher1 13th Jun 19, 4:58 PM
    • 3,221 Posts
    • 4,490 Thanks
    JReacher1
    • #7
    • 13th Jun 19, 4:58 PM
    • #7
    • 13th Jun 19, 4:58 PM
    I can appreciate this and itís something I wonít be doing again.

    However, there was over a 24 hour time span between the tickets selling and the point here is that the ticket listing was deleted - so why were my tickets sold?
    Originally posted by Sophprice
    Can you prove you deleted them?

    If you had deleted them then they wouldn't have been able to be bought. I realise its not very helpful but the chances are that you didn't delete your listing properly.
    • Les79
    • By Les79 13th Jun 19, 6:41 PM
    • 1,415 Posts
    • 1,566 Thanks
    Les79
    • #8
    • 13th Jun 19, 6:41 PM
    • #8
    • 13th Jun 19, 6:41 PM
    I wonder if they generate automated emails to confirm deletion of the ticket?

    I ask as it sounds like you WERE receiving their emails, but no such deletion email exists....

    In terms of proof, they'll probably have your website activity logs for that day. You MAY actually be able to make a Subject Access Request for this information.

    Aside from that, they'll likely either/both:

    1. Just block you from the site

    2. Chase you via the courts for the costs they allege that you owe them (at which point the evidence at hand, or lack of, will be weighed up).
    • JReacher1
    • By JReacher1 13th Jun 19, 9:09 PM
    • 3,221 Posts
    • 4,490 Thanks
    JReacher1
    • #9
    • 13th Jun 19, 9:09 PM
    • #9
    • 13th Jun 19, 9:09 PM
    My worry would be the OP may think they have removed their debit card details from Stubhub but it is possible that Stubhub can still charge the card.

    It depends whether the OP deleting the card from their account does a full delete from Stubhub's systems.
Welcome to our new Forum!

Our aim is to save you money quickly and easily. We hope you like it!

Forum Team Contact us

Live Stats

2,152Posts Today

7,565Users online

Martin's Twitter