Please note: The Auto-enrolment sub-board is now closed. If you have a question around pensions, please post in the Pensions, Annuities and Retirement Planning board.

Auto-enrolment or SIPPS

Hello,
I am a supply teacher paid through a payroll company and am due to be enrolled on the NEST pension from September. The payroll company do not make a contribution as the daily rate I am paid is supposed to cover this ( in the same way that I pay both employer and employee NI contributions). I understand that I don't pay tax on the pension contribution though. I am almost 54 (single, no kids) and don't know whether to opt out of the NEST pension and set up a SIPPS instead. I hope to retire at 60 but may have to work longer if that's not financially possible. I had to go on supply due to caring responsibilities. Initially I worked through the LA but the work has now all gone over to agencies so I can't contribute to TPS.
Any advice on NEST v SIPPS would be appreciated.
Thank you.

Comments

• newatc
    newatc Posts: 845 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    If you are not getting an employer contribution, then I don't see any advantage of a NEST over a SIPP or Personal Pension (provided you choose a good provider with reasonable charges).
  • jul1e
    jul1e Posts: 15 Forumite
    Thank you for your reply.
    I have no knowledge of how SIPPS work and the more I read about them the more confused I get. Do the contributions have to be taken directly from my pay to be tax free (which is very erratic,obviously no pay in the school holidays) or can I make regular payments from my bank account and claim the tax back?
    Also, although the NEST doesn't have employer contributions it is supposed to be safe according to the payroll company - I haven't actually had any in-depth info about it yet) and I am worried that SIPPS might not be.
    Thanks
  • xylophone
    xylophone Posts: 44,348 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post