IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

I called PCM after receiving debt collectors letter in panic. Have I messed up?

Options
Hi I’m so sorry to start a new thread, couldn’t find my answer in newbies. PCM charged me for “parking out of bay” at a train station when I’d stopped for 30-60seconds to remove baggage and my back tyre was ON the marked line rather than in it as I see on their photos, whilst I quickly removed luggage from boot to drop someone off. I feel it’s very unfair but with the level of escalation starting to feel I’ve comitted a serious crime amounting to £160. I’m a doctor and don’t need the extra stress right now :(
I sent a lengthy letter to complaints with firstly a complaint of their service (very inconsistent information when I called them, a letter coincidently not sent by them meant I lost my time frame of appealing through IAS), and some of your mentioned point such as lack of signage, who the “parked attendant” was? (as no one was there to issue the ticket, unless the were very far away zooming in with a camera), and how the 60 second stop would have caused them loss of business. However I DID refer to being the driver and probably implied it’s my car.
In a panic on receiving the debt collector letter I called PCM and had a very stern lady saying my complaint has no link to the appeal (despite my letter being recieved and not acknowledged) and that the £160 fine remains, making me feel worse. I tried to offer paying £60 but she refused and eventually the line cut off (seemed deliberate). Very unprofessional service and feel bullied into paying.

Seeing as I’ve done a couple of things wrong, should I now just pay the fine of £160? I don’t seem to be supported by any friends or family that this is a scam.