Does our house need rewiring?

Hi All

I appreciate this may be a long shot but just looking for some advice really!

We have just moved into a 1960s 3-bed semi which has had some areas of the house rewired (the kitchen and extension are new and done about 5 years ago which we have the building regs cert for).

The rest of the house and bedrooms I think need rewiring. But I am no expert!

All the sockets and light switches look 'old' and discoloured although no round pins but they are very low to the skirting boards, in awkward places such as behind doors and only 2 single sockets in each room. Some are also embedded into the wall. Also the switch needs to be down for on which is unusual. I don't think they have been replaced since the 1960s but I could be wrong.

We have a number of boxes/meters in the under stairs cupboard which relate to the gas, new electrics, old electrics and we also have a smart meter so I'm not sure what I would be looking for! One of them in a wooden board though? Sounds bad?

Obviously it requires an inspection by an electrician which we are in the process of finding and if it does need doing then I'm keen to get it done before we start decorating. This is also our lifetime home.

Any advice on what I have described is much appreciated! And also an indication on cost would be helpful, we are in the North East.

Thanks

Comments

• I posted a vaguely similar question yesterday, and what I think I'm going to do, and sounds like it might be right for you too, is getting an EICR (Electrical Installation Condition Report) then getting several quotes on the work highlighted in the EICR.
  • Slinky
    Slinky Posts: 9,979 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post