PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! However well-intentioned, for the safety of other users we ask that you refrain from seeking or offering medical advice. This includes recommendations for medicines, procedures or over-the-counter remedies. Posts or threads found to be in breach of this rule will be removed.

Freecycle etiquette

I am using freecyle to give away items which the charity shop will not take. I am new to freecycle and was hoping there might be some freecycle experts here who can advise me. I have over a dozen people interested in an item and the person I chose to give it to has not replied to my email offer which I made 24 hours ago.

Is this too soon to expect a reply to my email asking when can they collect, or should I offer it to another frecycler. No sure of freecycle etiqutte so comments appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• Hi there,
    I do a lot of stuff through Freecycle - I wait a couple of days after sending the "congrats you've won the time" message before sending a second email - if I have to send a second/nudging email I always give them a deadline to either a) be in touch and confirm they still want the item or b) setting a deadline for collection.

I don't update Freecycle with the "item taken" message until it has actually gone.

I always email the unlucky applicants as I'll often get a "oh no gutted as would have loved that item" and I tend to offer the uncollected item to them as in " wasn't collected do you still want it"

I love Freecycle but often people have busy lives so I have found being accommodating but not a walkover has paid dividends!
  • jim1999
    jim1999 Posts: 171
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Forumite
    I always advise that I will give it to whoever gives me the earliest firm time to collect it.

Got so fed up of people saying yes, and then changing their mind part way through or pushing back the collection time - it was becoming more hassle than it was worth.