The MSE Forum will be undergoing some maintenance this evening. As a result, some users may experience temporary performance issues. Please use the Site Feedback board to report anything major. Thank you for your patience.

PPI store cards Santander advice

From 1999-2003 I had a number of store cards, all taken out in 1999 when I was a full time student, although I did start work in summer 2000. I wasn’t aware that I had PPI on any of these, it may well have been on statements at the time, but it was a long time ago and I don’t remember.
A few weeks ago I contacted Santander who confirmed I did have PPI on two of these cards and they were the ones who advised how long the insurance and the cards ran for. I have made a complaint - as I believe the PPI will have been mis sold, given I was a student. They have written to me today to ask me to send more information, but in their letter they state:
Your complaint against SCUKL will be assessed under general legal principles (including time-bar), whereas the FCA’s dispute resolution ‘DISP’ rules apply to your complaint against the insurer.

Is this them indicating the complaint will not be upheld? I have read some of the threads on here, but I am still confused. I do not recall ever receiving a letter from any of them indicating I may have been mis sold (from some of the threads it looks like Santander have used this for the time bar if letters have been sent) but I haven’t lived at the address they would’ve had since 2003, so wouldn’t have received one if it was sent.

I’m aware they haven’t yet rejected, but if they do, are there any avenues to challenge this? There most certainly will have been balances on the cards as I took a loan to pay them all off.

Thanks for any advice

Comments

• Debsyh wrote: »
    I’m aware they haven’t yet rejected, but if they do, are there any avenues to challenge this?
    You'll have to wait and see what they say first.

No point trying to pre-empt their decision.