Banned IP Addresses

What is going on with the banning of IP addresses over Christmas / New Year? I've had four different IP addresses banned for no apparent reason and with no explanation given.

Comments

203846930 Posts: 4,708 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Have you been cut & pasting from anywhere as that could be a reason.
  • unforeseen
    unforeseen Posts: 7,279 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Most likely it's a complete subrange being banned due to somebody else using that range triggering spam systems. Probably not even this site.

If MSE use people like Spamhaus then that would explain it.
  • Painkiller
    Painkiller Posts: 6,146 Forumite
    Have you been cut & pasting from anywhere as that could be a reason.

Any copied text goes into notepad before being pasted here, I've not changed how I've been posting things for several years though so can't see why it has suddenly become a problem.

I had the following, less than useful, reply from mse;

"Your IP is not being blocked by our forum software directly, it looks like it's being banned by a spam prevention system beyond our control.

In this situation, the best solution is usually to change your IP address if that's possible. This can often be as simple as turning your router off for a few minutes, then on again. The following link may be of help:

https://whatismyipaddress.com/change-ip

We apologise once again. This is far from an ideal situation."

I'm up to 6 banned IPs at this point and having to use a vpn to access the site.
  • Painkiller
    After putting all of my banned IP addresses in a Blacklist checker, there are issues reported with the following blacklists (the top one is common for every banned IP);

dnsbl.spfbl.net
    dnsbl.sorbs.net
    dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net
    b.barracudacentral.org
    dul.dnsbl.sorbs.net
  • unforeseen
    unforeseen Posts: 7,279 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post