Help, I've lied about my salary to my potential employers and now they're asking for my payslips.

Hi, so I've got myself into a massive dilemma by lying. Can anyone please help?

I currently work in sales where my base salary is £25,000 and I've made about £6000 commission so far.
I interviewed with a potential employer, when they asked me how much money I've made so far and I told them the YTD on my payslip comes to about £42,000. They also asked me on how much base salary was, which I did say it was £25,000 and so the rest comes from commission.
I know, lying is wrong. But I wanted this company to be impressed in my skills, I am in fact very unhappy in the current company and desperate to get out.

I got made an offer of £30,000 from this potential employer which of course I am really excited to accept. Since I've replied and said yes to them, they've sent me a checklist of what I need to send them over:
Last 3 months of payslip
3 references - including current employer and when to contact them
Passport

The passport I'm fine with. The rest, I'm worried now!
My previous employer references, as I got on well with my managers, they would be happy to provide me with good references. With my current manager, I know it'll be a positive reference but what if the new employer's HR team ask about my salary???

The main problem is that they're asking me for last 3 months of payslip, what should I do? Forge them??? Is there reason that I can give to not provide these?

Please don't judge, I'm trying to get out of a job that's destroying my soul day by day and doing everything I can to move on for a better future prospect.

Has anyone experienced a similar situation to me? Can anyone advise me on what to do?

Thanks in advance!
x

Comments

• ViolaLass
    ViolaLass Posts: 5,764 Forumite
    All you can do it tell the truth now and not lie in future.
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 35,242 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post