Mis-sold Mortgage

Options
Hello, I’m new to this but thought this was to get the best advice from lots of experts.
I took a mortgage out with YBS in 2008. I’d been with my boyfriend for 6 months. I had £13k as a deposit. We went to our local branch of YBS and had several meetings with the onsite mortgage advisor. The up shot of it is...we took out a joint mortgage, fixed rate at 5.99% for 10 years. I was only 25 at the time and very naive/stupid/uneducated about buying houses. After 6 months, my boyfriend left me and I had to continue to pay the mortgage on my own otherwise I would have lost my £13,000 deposit, not to mention the long term negative affect it would have had on my credit history. The YBS would not take my ex off the mortgage because I couldn’t ‘afford’ it on my own. They also wouldn’t allow my parents to go on the mortgage because they didn’t live in my house. I struggled significantly, for 6 years to pay the £750 a month mortgage, when only earning £1000. Without my families help, I’d have lost everything.
Looking back, with hindsight, I believe I was mis-sold the mortgage. Who the hell would advice a 25 year old, who’d been with a guy for 6 months, to tie into a mortgage for ten years...at 5.99%. Surely they forecasted the rates extremely wrong and I ended up paying £6000 (redemption charge) to come out of the mortgage and changed provider.
I have written all the details up and I’m looking to send my ‘claim’ to YBS. I believe there a 6 year limit on these sorts of things, but is that statutory or just for guidance.
It’s taken me until November this year to become debt free, having tried everything to keep my house.
Has anyone any advice, guidance, input, that could support my case. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• SonOf
    SonOf Posts: 2,631 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    We went to our local branch of YBS and had several meetings with the onsite mortgage advisor.