Please Advise.

Hi Good Evening.

Myself and my Partner are looking to buy our first property, we don't want to go any higher than £150,000.

I work part time, as i'm still a student and i earn £13,000 p/a
He works full time and earns £23,000

We have £8000 saved in our HTB ISA.

Would we be successful in applying for a Mortgage in your opinions?

Any advice would be really appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• ACG
    ACG Posts: 23,720 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post I've helped Parliament
    You can check the lenders affordability calculators online.
    There is no information in terms of credit history or commitments so it is difficult to say whether you are likely to be accepted but on the face of it there should be options.
    I am a Mortgage Adviser
    You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a mortgage adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice.
  • Apologies.

Our outgoings are as follows.

£40 Per Month on Travel. (Just myself)
    £47 Per Month on Phone Contract (Just myself)

My partner who earns £23,000 has no financial commitments.

We have no children.
  • I would consider a 3 bedroom if you are planning to have children. As in my case an extension could easily cost over 40,000. But 8,000 may not be enough as buying fees can be over 1,000.
    When you look into an abyss, the abyss also looks into you. Nietzsche

Please note that at no point during this work was the kettle ever put out of commission and no chavs were harmed during the making of this post.
  • Lungboy
    Lungboy Posts: 1,953 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post
    Using a rough guideline of 4x salary you're very close to the maximum.

Are those really your outgoings? You don't eat? Or have any form of insurance? Or run cars? Etc
  • ACG