Spark passed my details to a debt collector without my knowledge?

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to energy companies as I only moved into my first rental property 6 months ago.

I'm with Spark on a fixed tariff of £140 a month. I have a direct debit that goes out each month. I have regularly entered in my meter readings (except for the first 2 months as I didn't know I needed to).

As far as I was aware, everything was fine. I had no contact from Spark and the direct debit was set up.

However, today I get a call from Opos who said they're calling on behalf of Spark. I'm asked to confirm security details which I refused as they called me. After hanging up I looked up the number online. They're a debt collection agency. This rings major alarm bells as I've always kept up to date with any payments.

So I take a look at my online account and see I'm £331 in debit. I contacted Spark who entered in my current meter readings and this brought the bill down to £270.

Now I can pay this off fine, I'd just like to know, without my knowledge or any contact at all, why Spark can hand off my details to a debt collection agency. Why wasn't I contacted and told my fixed tariff didn't cover my usage? And most importantly of all, will this now affect my credit rating? If so, what can I do about that?

Any advice would be very much appreciated. I'm still new to this game.

TIA

Comments

• wavelets
    wavelets Posts: 1,164 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Hi there,

I'm fairly new to energy companies as I only moved into my first rental property 6 months ago.

I'm with Spark on a fixed tariff of £140 a month. I have a direct debit that goes out each month. I have regularly entered in my meter readings (except for the first 2 months as I didn't know I needed to).

As far as I was aware, everything was fine. I had no contact from Spark and the direct debit was set up.