Nutmeg, Vanguard Lifestrategy or Ready-Made Portfolio?

Hi all

Complete newbie to investing here and was very much hoping for some of your expert advice.

I have always been a bit nervous of the stock market but have always used my full Cash ISA allowance. I'm feeling a bit braver now and would like to put this year's ISA allowance of £15,240 into a Fund in a Stocks and Shares ISA. I already have the money in savings so am ready to transfer. Before I do, a few questions:

1. I am clueless and don't have the time or understanding to research and choose between individual funds. I have been looking at Nutmeg who seem to do all the work for you (great for me) but on the forums people seem to say that you can do better than Nutmeg for a lower fee and better returns. One of the suggestions that comes up a lot is the Vanguard Lifestrategy range (I'd probably go 40 or 60), but that means buying an individual fund rather than a portfolio and I wasn't sure if it's better to diversify. Then there are the Ready-made fund portfolios offered by BestInvest or HL or whoever, which are more expensive than Vanguard but a little cheaper than Nutmeg but not actively managed which I think would mean that every so often I would need to sit down and assess and make decisions about whether or not to move my money which I'm not qualified to do!

So the question is, for a complete clueless person who wants to pretty much just put the money somewhere and leave it and have it do better than it would in Savings/Cash ISA, what would be the best option?

2. Once a decision has been made, is it better to then buy the thing in one big go (to maximise the use of the money that is currently sitting in savings) or drip feed to avoid buying when the market is high?

Thank you so much for your time.

Comments

• InvestInPoker
    InvestInPoker Posts: 1,356 Forumite
    lucyonline wrote: »