CyclistDreams - House deposit diary

Morning all!

Hoping this is the best place to keep a copy of my road to a house deposit! Thought If i posted here and keep it updated, it will help motivate me to hopefully save more.

I'm currently saving for my first house. I found one that i really loved last year, but after speaking to a broker I didn't have enough of a deposit & mortgage availability to afford it which was a bummer! It was close to work, a lovely little cottage type of house in a small village on the outskirts of York - Ah well!

I've been saving for the last 4 years rigidly. The years before that I didn't really think about growing up and getting a house so I didn't take the saving that seriously. As of today, 29th August 2019, I've currently got a grand total of £40,681.45 saved up towards a house.

Monthly, I've got a standing order of £300 going to a 5% first direct savings account, and then I transfer over £145 into the account where the rest of the money is. £4000 is sat between a couple of other 5% accounts, and the interest generated gets transferred into the main savings account.

I booked a holiday with the girlfriend a few months ago, and took the money out of the house deposit to pay off the CC because I had 5% cashback on the CC, so that's given me £100 cashback which will go towards the house when it gets paid next year, so my overall figure saved is about £1100 short of the actual figure. Currently got the Overtime banked to pay off my remaining share next month (£300). The girlfriend is paying me back at £200 a month, so that goes back into the house pot!.

Alongside the house deposit, i'm saving £100 a month towards my emergency fund - Currently that sits at just over £2000, and i want to get it to £3000 for a safety net before I get a mortgage.