Finding my way through the money jungle of debt

I am going to be 50 in just over 3 months, live on my own, rent a flat, mountains of debt which is falling in on me rapidly and nothing to show for my life; so I’m going to try to keep this diary for a couple of reasons:
1. As a type of sounding board as I have no one to cry and moan to
2. To help me keep positive and stop going into a deep depression (again)
3. To see other people’s diaries and know that I am not the only one in this situation.

So, I have always been in debt. I’ve never been good with money. I also have major depressive disorder, borderline personality disorder and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.

I am a teacher and about 3 years ago had to leave my job due to work force bullying. Having only been in that post for 3 years, I won 3 months pay, but psycholigically cost me much more. I couldn’t face teaching and sunk rapidly. I went on to benefits but the housing benefit and ESA combined didn’t even cover my rent. I tried to get on the council housing list but even with a letter from my psychiatrist and mental health nurse, I was put on band 4. I complained to my local MP and got a prompt phone call from the council, where I was told that “it was my iwn fault for renting an expensive property,” (it’s not that expensive as bills are included) and they still couldn’t help unless I was evicted. Then in August last year, my 24 year old nephew went to a party and was given MDNA. He made it home, but died within 2 hours.
In February I hauled myself back up and started supply teaching and realised that I loved it. I took a placement in a local school, which got extended and extended and I started there permanently in September. I am loving it but am permanently shattered. The trouble was, between end of the school year with a supply agency until my first pay packet, I had no income at all.