Have we got our sums right?? Appraise our plan.

Sea_Shell
Sea_Shell Posts: 9,339 Forumite
First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
Hi All

We've recently reduced our hours and will have a joint monthly income of approx £750 pm going forwards, which currently covers all our spending (excluding holidays)

We are late 40's (me) early 50's (Hubby) couple, and have saved hard and are Mortgage free and hoping we are in a position to have options on giving up work completely in the next 5 or so years.

Our current 'Pots' are as follows:
My Pension pots - £107,000 (plus potential widows pension from OH)
OH's pension pots - £130,000, plus 2 Final Salary pots expected to pay £12,000 p.a between them (or reduced Wid Pen)
Shares/Investments - £86,000
Cash (across various types of accounts) - £140,000

We are still making approx. £800 pm contributions into pensions from savings.

I've been keeping track of our spending for a few years, and think we'll need approx. £12-£15k p.a. in full Retirement.

So worst case scenario if we stopped work tomorrow, we'd have £226k available, which should last approx. 15 to 18 years, with our pensions available after that. i.e. defer as long as possible.

We could also, as a last resort, downsize or equity release (no kids!!)

Does this all look do-able, or have we made a complete Horlicks of it all.

*** Further updated figures in post #170, if you're interested ***

*** FINAL UPDATE ***

Right, while I get some respite from the heat today....I've updated our figures for end June 2019, and officially declared enough is enough. (only 3 weeks to go at work!)

As of today our total FIRE pot stands at....£536,129. This is made up of...

DC pension pots - £303,729
S&S ISAs - £133,648
Fixed term cash - £69,715
Easy access cash - £29,037 (net of stoozed CC balances)