ISA for both Funds and Shares?

Hi folks, I'm new to investing in stocks and am looking for a suitable ISA to hold investments in.
I'm after an ISA that offers me the opportunity to invest in funds to give me a diversified portfolio but that will also enable me to have a bit of fun and buy individual shares too.

Everything that I've seen so far seems to only offer access to funds. Does anyone know if there are products out there that do what I'm looking for?

Also all the funds seem to be actively managed when I would quite happily have a passive fund tracking an index at a much lower manager fee. Is that possible?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Comments

• System
    System Posts: 178,093 Community Admin
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
  • eskbanker
    eskbanker Posts: 30,979 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Hi folks, I'm new to investing in stocks and am looking for a suitable ISA to hold investments in.
    I'm after an ISA that offers me the opportunity to invest in funds to give me a diversified portfolio but that will also enable me to have a bit of fun and buy individual shares too.

Everything that I've seen so far seems to only offer access to funds. Does anyone know if there are products out there that do what I'm looking for?

Also all the funds seem to be actively managed when I would quite happily have a passive fund tracking an index at a much lower manager fee. Is that possible?

Which providers have you considered so far? To the best of my knowledge, all the mainstream platforms support individual shares as well as funds, so Hargreaves Lansdown, Interactive Investor, AJ Bell, Charles Stanley, IWeb, etc, all do so for example.

They'll all offer passive tracker funds as well as actively managed ones - which passive trackers were you considering and who didn't provide them?
  • AnotherJoe
    AnotherJoe Posts: 19,622 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic