clothes drying options--advice requested!

Hi all, I am new to trying to be frugal so there's lots I'm just figuring out! In lots of areas I have quickly realised I've been making some not terribly intelligent choices!

So here's one I'm puzzling over that I thought I'd ask for advice on:

I live in a small flat with no outside space, where the only place I have room to set up my clothes airer is the coldest room, as it only has one radiator and less protection from surrounding buildings. Now that the temperature has dipped, my clothes will sometimes begin to mildew before they dry unless I turn the heat on when otherwise I would be warm enough without heat once I put on an extra layer.

I'm wondering what makes the most sense utility-price wise:

1. get a small fan to blow on the clothes on the airer--my mom does this and swears it works (£10 initial plus power)

2. get a small ceramic heater for the room to put on near the clothes while leaving the rest of the heat off (£25 initial plus power, with added benefit of warmer room when I sit in it)

3. get one of those heated airing racks (£30 initial plus power)

4. just run the heat even if I'm not cold so the clothes dry (just power)

For reference, I do a LOT of laundry because I work out hard every day, so I have a full set of workout clothes to wash 7 days a week, plus regular weekly stuff like PJs, regular clothes, sheets etc. So I'd say I'm probably drying clothes at least 2 or maybe 3 days a week.

I currently pay £50 a month for heat and electric combined.

Thank you in advance for any advice, frugality wizards! :j

--Bunnykat

Comments

• JJ_Egan
    JJ_Egan Posts: 20,281 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Oil or LPG ??
  • Not sure? (I had to google LPG!) I get my gas and electric through Pure Planet if that helps.
  • PasturesNew
    PasturesNew Posts: 70,698 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Anniversary First Post