Looking to have a simpler life .......

Options
Downshifterella
Downshifterella Posts: 208 Forumite
First Anniversary First Post
edited 3 July 2018 at 7:35AM in Mortgage-free wannabe
Hello you lovely lot!!
It's been yeeeeears since Ive been on the forums ..so much so that I've forgotten my old username!!

Anyway, new start! ....;)

So I've been playing around with MF dreaming for a few years now but really knuckled down when it came to thinking about our re-mortgage plans at the end of 2017...the first aim is to save up £5000 to be able to get a better LTV for the remortgage by the 31st December!

In terms of household there is me, hubby and a few pets but no sprogs yet :p. We live in a gorgeous part of the county and are busy DIY ing to get the house and garden finished ( long term project this one!!)

Both of us have fairly well paid but stressful jobs , redundancy and cuts forever threatening and keeping us doing more with less..and to be honest , a big part of my mortgage free goal is to have a simpler ( or self-directed) work life balance . I love the idea of doing something self employed/part time or working from home....have not had time or head space to figure that out yet , so thus far , efforts have been to pay off the mortgage !!!

Goal for the summer is cutting down on unecessary food spends, may do some business plotting but I think that is for later down the line!! Also money saving on transport ...commute into the next major city to us weekly and saving time ( but not money) on the journey so far. There is a possibility of cheaper journey ( but would look at an almost 2 hr commute ..it's an hr and half at the mo!) £15 savings each time.....

Will figure out our basic budget when I have a chance soon! And have a read through others diaries for some inspiration!

Looking forward to getting stuck in

Downshifter Ella xx
MF planning for the simple life :beer::j

Comments

• penny*pincher_2
    Options
    Hi Downshifter Ella :wave: