New Post Advanced Search

Broadband advice wanted

12 replies 305 views
I am completely fed up with Talk Talk. (Who isn't?) But i'm uncertain how broadband really works, so would appreciate some guidance.
If I switch, do i have to go without internet access for a time? If so how long?
On their basic package we're getting 5.2 mbps down and less than 1 up. I'm not an expert on speeds at all but to me this is painfully slow. Even dialup would scoff at this. What can I reasonably expect rom a basic package does anyone know? TT claims 7 is about average (which is what it was a couple of weeks ago after they sent us a new router following me complaining). They say if I want more I gotta pony up more. I'm not encouraged to do so, but can I expect better from anyone else? I don't need the worlds best service. We do have the means in terms of the infrastructure.
Thanks

Replies

• The_Fat_ControllerThe_Fat_Controller Forumite
    459 posts
    Part of the Furniture 100 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭
    You are 100's of times faster than dialup, don't be daft !
    If you are on basic ADSL, then the length of your line to the exchange is the factor that mostly determines your speed and if there is no fault, changing providers will not change your speed.
    The maximum upload speed IS 1 Mbps on ADSL.
    If Fibre to the Cabinet is available, then speeds are determined by the distance from home to cabinet and with TalkTalk, deals for that service should be only very marginally more expensive than ADSL.
    Go to the likes of the uSwitch site and see what is available for your address, note the best price from TT and call them and see if they will match the price.
  • Neil_JonesNeil_Jones Forumite
    4.4K posts
    Eighth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Name Dropper
    ✭✭✭✭
    phdwho said:
    I am completely fed up with Talk Talk. (Who isn't?) But i'm uncertain how broadband really works, so would appreciate some guidance.