New Post Advanced Search

internet on Ubunto

edited 13 August 2019 at 11:34PM in Techie Stuff
87 replies 2.1K views
SuperSeagullSuperSeagull Forumite
197 posts
Part of the Furniture 100 Posts
edited 13 August 2019 at 11:34PM in Techie Stuff
Can anybody give a complete novice a simple step by step guide of how to connect to wireless wifi in newly installed Ubunto. EG go to ?? click on?? then go to ?? etc. Thank you.

Replies

• psychic_teabagpsychic_teabag Forumite
    2.9K posts
    Tenth Anniversary 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    As in the other thread, first thing to do is find out what hardware you have, and whether any necessary firmware has been installed.

lspci or inxi in a terminal window should list hardware. Might need to install the inxi package if it isn't installed by default. (Using whatever software package manager you prefer.)

https://sourcedigit.com/22009-ubuntu-system-information-command-line-ubuntu-hardware-information/

Looks like there's also lshw and lshw-gtk (a graphical front end) available. I haven't tried any of these. ('ls' is the linux command line to list files. So it's commonly used as a prefix in other commands that list things, such as lspci = list pci devices ; lshw = list hardware ; lsusb = list usb devices.)

It's a while since I've set up wireless. I tend to edit text config files rather than using gui tools (and I probably use archaic network tools rather than the current batch). One command that's useful is
    sudo iwlist scan
    which shows a list of access points the network can see.
  • edited 14 August 2019 at 4:11AM
    SuperSeagullSuperSeagull Forumite
    197 posts
    edited 14 August 2019 at 4:11AM
    Sorry that is all too technical for me I do not understand it.

When I had Windows installed to the left of the power button is a wifi button (blue) which came on but with Ubunto this does not show up and I cannot switch it on.
  • thorganbythorganby Forumite
    434 posts