Buyer didn't complete yesterday - Non UK Resident

New Post Advanced Search

Buyer didn't complete yesterday - Non UK Resident

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in House Buying, Renting & Selling
12 replies 1.4K views
FredBloggsFredBloggs Forumite
4 posts
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in House Buying, Renting & Selling
The (supposed) buyer of my UK property failed to complete yesterday. I'm a non UK resident, and was hoping to have transferred my cash out of GBP yesterday - GBP has already dropped significantly in the 3 weeks since exchange.

We will be charging the buyer the 4%+ interest for the delay, but is there any chance I could claim damages if the rate moves against me between now and completion? Given the sums involved even a small change in the FX rate leads to a material change in the value of the equity in my new home's currency.

I'm imagining there's probably not a huge amount I can do, but figured I'd ask!

Replies

• Nick_CNick_C Forumite
    6.7K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Name Dropper Home Insurance Hacker!
    ✭✭✭✭
    FredBloggs wrote: »
    The (supposed) buyer of my UK property failed to complete yesterday. I'm a non UK resident, and was hoping to have transferred my cash out of GBP yesterday - GBP has already dropped significantly in the 3 weeks since exchange.

We will be charging the buyer the 4%+ interest for the delay, but is there any chance I could claim damages if the rate moves against me between now and completion? Given the sums involved even a small change in the FX rate leads to a material change in the value of the equity in my new home's currency.

I'm imagining there's probably not a huge amount I can do, but figured I'd ask!

Did you have a clause in the contract to that effect?
  • Nick_C wrote: »
    Did you have a clause in the contract to that effect?

No, it's the standard contract.
  • diggingdudediggingdude Forumite
    2K posts
    1,000 Posts Second Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭