edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in House Buying, Renting & Selling
14 replies 701 views
campbell19925campbell19925 Forumite
203 posts
Third Anniversary 100 Posts
✭✭
edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in House Buying, Renting & Selling
Hi everyone,

I am going to view 2 houses tomorrow and I am seriously interested in one of them. I have never bought a property before and I will be buying alone (although living with partner & baby) I will be viewing alone and I will be viewing with the vendor.

I am a complete newbie and I am wondering if anyone can provide me with some questions to ask that are really important?

Few I've come across so far are; Does it have double glazing? What are the neighbours like? Something about the boiler?

If anyone can give me any tips that would be great.

Also, the estate agents I have organised it through have set me up with a mortgage adviser straight after the viewing, I don't know if this is normal?

If anyone wants to see pictures of the house I'm viewing and that would help I can send a link to rightmove, cheers.

Thank you in advance everyone.:beer:

Replies

• BrownTroutBrownTrout Forumite
    1.3K posts
    1,000 Posts Name Dropper First Anniversary
    ✭✭✭
    1. Cancel mortgage advisor after viewing. You are not doing any favours seeing him
    2. Depending on house look behind stuff which looks like it has been placed there.....
  • coolttcooltt Forumite
    726 posts
    Part of the Furniture 500 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭
    Yeah as BrownTrout says forget the mortgage advisor from EA they just want commission and will not be in the slightest bit interested in what YOU want or need. The estate agent works for the seller NEVER forget that no matter how nice they seem.

House tip:
    Decide what is really important to you and go from there e.g.
    I want a shower with decent water pressure so i would try the shower, is it electric or plumbed in?
    I want plenty of outlets in the rooms so i would look for them