Tea Bags vs. Loose tea leaves

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Old Style MoneySaving
251 replies 53.2K views

Replies

• marybmaryb Forumite
    4.2K posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭✭
    I've been using loose tea for two months now, having started when I realised that tea bags contained plastic. However I'm finding it messy. I empty the teapot into a sieve in the sink but it doesn't drain very well and when I empty the sieve into the food waste bucket it drips on the floor and small clumps of tea leaves shoot sideways onto the floor. Also my sink looks horribly stained.

I'm heartened to see that some food manufacturers say they are going to switch over to a material made from corn starch for their tea bags. Looks like the market will come up with the solution and I will happily go back to tea bags
    It doesn't matter if you are a glass half full or half empty sort of person. Keep it topped up! Cheers!
  • Susan1962Susan1962 Forumite
    297 posts
    Not 100 % certain but I think the better quality the tea, the bigger the leaves as teabags are full of jus dregs! Perhaps switching to loose leaf but goin "up" a brand might be the best option?
    Looking ahead
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User]
    0 posts
    10,000 Posts I've been Money Tipped!
    MoneySaving Newbie
    tea bags are handy for me and at the moment I am happy with the twinings I bought via a money off voucher .My late Mum swore by her brook Bond Divi tea and we all grew up drinking it (I think she liked the 5/- postal order that came every so often when her divi card was filled up with stamps ) I don't think I would return to loose tea as living alone ,even though I have a small tea pot I could be bothered with the mess.Hopefully the tea compaanies will bow to public pressure and produce a environmentally friendly tea bag soon.

JackieO
  • KjdKjd Forumite
    2 posts