Anglia Research Services - Intestate Wills

Replies

• madbadrobmadbadrob Forumite
    1.3K Posts
    Eighth Anniversary Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭
    Exctlly Potter. I give it freely but a bit of searching online would have given the details as well so its not as if I am giving anything away. There are things in the business I wont share but the majority I will

Rob
  • GrannyKateGrannyKate Forumite
    735 Posts
    Part of the Furniture 500 Posts Name Dropper Combo Breaker
    ✭✭
    My mother was approached a few years ago by one of these companies and eventually received a small pay out of around £400. They told her from the start who the person was and that the amount was likely to be small.

I have been an amateur genealogist for some 30 years and I watch the Heir Hunting programmes on TV. Whilst I call myself an amateur, I do take a professional approach to the research and I am often irritated by the assumptions apparently made on TV programmes. I guess a slick approach is needed for watchable TV but my years of experience tell me that just because I can't find something does not mean it does not exist somewhere. The TV programmes make it look a lot easier than it is in reality. eg Evidence of a missing marriage recently turned up for one of my direct ancestors which I had been looking for 30 years for.

I have a tree on an online site but access is restricted - I always answer queries sent via the site. I am aware that on line sites contain some really bad trees (and many owners refuse to amend them when provided with evidence that they are wrong) but I was quite surprised not to have been approached by the Heir Hunting firm dealing with my mother's case as the deceased person they were looking into was clearly on my tree with date of birth and death.