Bank of Ireland tracker mortgage % increase

Replies

• kingstreetkingstreet Forumite
    37.1K Posts
    Tenth Anniversary 10,000 Posts Name Dropper Photogenic
    ✭✭✭✭✭
    TBH I have nothing to bring to this particular party, I'm afraid.

You need to hang your argument on what terms and conditions applied at the time and if you were made aware of them. Even then, I'm not sure the outcome would involve the lender's decision being reversed.

It appears complicated by the timing - either before or after regulation started on 31/10/2004 and clouded by some being BTL cases, which fall outside the consumer protection regulation of the FSA/FOS etc.
    I am a mortgage broker. You should note that this site doesn't check my status as a Mortgage Adviser, so you need to take my word for it. This signature is here as I follow MSE's Mortgage Adviser Code of Conduct. Any posts on here are for information and discussion purposes only and shouldn't be seen as financial advice. Please do not send PMs asking for one-to-one-advice, or representation.
  • Dylboy wrote: »
    I am definitely going to fight this. I've been advised to make an official complaint to the bank - to which they have 8 weeks to reply - and then take their response to the Financial Ombudsmen Service. It's long winded but in the meantime I'm going to stir up as much sh*t as I can for them and suggest you all do the same by emailing BBC Watchdog, Radio 4's Moneybox, Radio 2's Jeremy Vine and anyone else you can think of!
    "Rip Off Britain" would seem appropriate!
    I am also writing to them to challenge the legalities - and fairness which is a different matter.
  • definitely think your right . Big collective stand , BIG VOICE and prob through the legal system
    Yes, let's make the expression "doing a Bank of Ireland" a common term of derision against anyone who rips off anyone legally according to the letter of the law, but unfairly in terms of decency and good practice!:T