stoozing with balance transfer fees

Hi everyone,

I'm new to MSE and to Stoozing, the site certainly does make for some interesting reading. Anyways, I was wondering what peoples views were on "stoozing" as described by Martin in his article using balance transfer cards with a fee. In his article he described the use of a good fees-free 0% interest on balance transfer card.

Is it worthwhile if they slap on a 2% fee? it seems there are hardly any credit cards that offer the 0% balance transfer without a fee

Many thanks!

Replies

• wayoflifewayoflife Forumite
    281 Posts
    In a word no.. depending on what you choose to invest the stooze money in, and how long the deal is for the profits are negligable

A much better deal is to stooze with a 0% purchases card, as you can channel your spending through it and reach the limit pretty quickly (obviously depending on your spending)... especially if you have a big purchase that you need to make.

For the sake of 1 month of 'channeling' it is worth doing this rather than paying a fee

A car you might want to check out is the & More Credit Card. Here are the benefits:

- 0% on purchases until January 2008
    - Points earnt on all puchases (converted into M&S vouchers)
    - FEE FREE balance transfers (currently 4.9% for the life)
    - 0% on furniture purchases instore

I would suggest, as a new stoozer, to do this....

1) Get the card and just use for the purchases (never bt on this whilst having a purchase balance on here!!!) now this is valid until January 2008 (which is 6 months by the time you get it)

2) Channel your spending until you have reached the limit

3) Stooze this amount

4) Pay the minimum payment each month I would suggest by direct debit

5) In January you have 2 options Pay the balance off then either...

use as a 'normal' card i.e. pay of in full every month, therefore avoiding interest.

Use the BT method, with an EGG card (see Martins tips, or if you cant find it I will explain this)