MSE News: Guest Comment - Why are energy prices increasing?

edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Energy
115 replies 7.8K views

Replies

• backfootbackfoot Forumite
    2.7K Posts
    Not sure why you think that.(the bold bit).

I worked in the industry for many years throughout the various stages of privatisation and helped to concieve many of the additional processes the market participants now have to do which previously didn't exist. Hundreds of consultants worked for over a decade inventing and impementing these things.

My opinion today is that bills today are much higher than they would be if the cegb still existed, and the ideals of competition ensuring a lean, mean and efficient electrical supply industry have failed spectacularly.

Spot on Graham. Those Consultants have been the only winners.

Indeed just a daily read here shows the basic inabilty of all of these companies to even get billing and customer service right. As far as the customer is concerned what should be simple has become a nightmare.
  • davidgmmafandavidgmmafan Forumite
    1.5K Posts
    Part of the Furniture 1,000 Posts Combo Breaker
    ✭✭✭
    "I think this is what happens when you run essential services like a market stall in a free market."

I presume they inherited it, surely that's also a factor? I mean I hate water companies but I can see the argument that if they inherited shoddy infrastructure its going to take time to put right all the leaks and stuff.

"I don't think all greens support energy generation on such a small and over subsidised scale. Certainly not one where you can have your cake and eat it."

Glad to hear it, I wasn't sure because you never hear from them. I suppose that's the media though they'll tend to focus on the extremes on one side or another. Whilst we're on the subject I don't see how electric cars are the answer either, won't that mean we need more electricity???