edited 30 November -1 at 1:00AM in Redundancy & Redundancy Planning
45 replies 51.6K views

Replies

• philandsjphilandsj Forumite
    9 posts
    Part of the Furniture Combo Breaker First Post
    MoneySaving Newbie
    Please help!
    I have been working in the same job for 5 years. I have to apply to charitable organisations for my funding every 2-3 years. 2 years ago my employer changed - the people on the new management team stayed the same but extra people came on board. The last funding offfer was for 12 months from 1st April 2009 - 31st march 2010. I have now received my redundancy letter as we are unsure if there is funding available after march 2010. They have terminated my job contract 3 weeks early - on march 10th 2010 and said i will be paid on 31st march the normal amount - the final 3 weeks of march being my redundancy package. They argue that i am only entitled to 3 weeks redundancy as i have only been with this employer 2 years - the old employers should have paid me 4.5 weeks money for the previous 3 years service. With the holidays i have left to take this means i leave this friday! they have also said if i do go on the 10th of march and my job is refunded they will claw back the 3 weeks holiday i have taken!! My job contract states that i will be employed as long as there is funding and my work is acceptable. In my mind there is funding to pay me until 31st march so they should not terminate early and give me a proper redundance package. Also if they pay me as usual they will be taxing my redundncy pay! if anyone understands all this can they give me some guidance

many many thanks!

sj
  • Hello all

Is it ok to post here, when you are under threat of redundancy, rather than knowing definitely that you are or already have been, made redundant? This is my very first post after being a lurker for a year or so.
    :ANow MF (thanks in part to following advice from MSE - cheers!)

DDCF: £225 Little acorns...
    ;)
  • Hello again