June 2010 Grocery Challenge

edited 29 May 2010 at 1:23AM in Old Style MoneySaving
908 replies 77.5K views

Replies

• hello everyone,

newbie here!
    just in the process of drawing up a budget for the first time...it's really exciting actually lol i see it as a fun challenge.

currently, the budget for myself and my boyf is £400 p/month. We're prob spending on average about £75 p/w so not a kick in the bum off it.

I'm trying to pay off my debts and save some cash so I'm really interested to see how you guys do it. For this month (june-i get paid on the 24th, next week) I am setting our budget for £350 (41/2 weeks to allow for) as I know it is advised to take things slowly.

So we buy for breakfast, lunch and dinners for 6 days of the week, Sundays we go to our respective mothers lol

Apart from maybe El Paso Tacos/fajitas/the odd quiche...we generally make things from scratch. We buy a lot of fresh veg and seem to be spending about £25 quid on meat (incl. cooked meat for lunches etc.). Fruit and veg is around £10. We buy 2 frozen pizzas and garlic bread for saturday nite :) £10 on drinks (milk, bottled water, pure orange etc.) are these reasonable?

and the rest goes on cupboard stuff - beans, sauces, breads, soups, pasta, rice, noodles, cereals etc.

one thing i know we should eliminate is bottled water (2 six packs) but i'm convinced our tap water is unpleasant. my mum bought us one of those britta filter tank thingys but i wasn't fussed on that and the changing of water and cartridges etc. (too lazy).

we buy tesco value toilet roll and cleaning spray/toilet cleaner/rinse aid etc. but we buy branded washing powder, fabric conditioner, shampoos & conditioners, toothpastes & toothbrushes/dishwasher tablets etc.

we do meal plans but only really for dinners. our meal plan for this week was:
    vegetable jalfrezi curry with rice (from scratch)
    el paso tacos
    amatriciana pasta (from scratch)
    chicken, pancetta & spinach with potatoes